A day in the lives of Montessori & Autistic children…

Dedico questo post alle persone sensibili e altruiste che toccano la vita degli altri con tanti piccoli gesti silenziosi e sempre con un sorriso.   Se vi siete svegliati oggi, in piena salute, questo e’ gia’ un bellissimo regalo……abbracciate i vostri piccolini……oggi ho passato una giornata indimenticabile con due gruppi di bimbi molto speciali…..

I dedicate this post to sensitive and altruistic people who touch the lives of others with many small quiet gestures and always with a smile.  If you woke up today, in full health, this is a beautiful gift….hug your little ones…..today I spent an unforgettable day with two groups of very special children…..

With Francine Dimitriou, Assistant Director of the Lerner School for Autism at the Cleveland Clinic
With Francine Dimitriou, Assistant Director of the Lerner School for Autism at the Cleveland Clinic
The Lerner School for Autism at the Cleveland Clinic
The Lerner School for Autism at the Cleveland Clinic
The Lerner School for Autism at the Cleveland Clinic
The Lerner School for Autism at the Cleveland Clinic

A few years back, I was subbing for the Amherst City School District and – though my focus has never been special needs, I volunteered should an emergency rise where a special needs teacher was absent – I spent a week with autistic children and learned how unprepared I was for the task.  Though I documented myself every night to be better prepared the following day, I knew nothing about speech impairment, behavioral problems, cognitive differences.  It was one of the most trying and special weeks of my life, the last day I went to the Board of Education and asked never to be put again in a special needs class because I could have not helped the children should the need arise.  I never forgot the children and have learned a lot about autism ever since, sadly one of America’s most difficult condition in children and education….in remembrance of that week, and to ignite the imagination of a very special group of children, I spent a lovely morning with Francine Dimitrou, Assistant Director of the Lerner School for Autism at the Cleveland Clinic – a state of the art facility with incredible staff, faculty, educators – and brought some books as a gift to the children…..

Casa dei Bambini Montessori at Holy Rosary School, Little Italy, Cleveland
Casa dei Bambini Montessori at Holy Rosary School, Little Italy, Cleveland
Casa dei Bambini Montessori at Holy Rosary Church, Little Italy, Cleveland
Casa dei Bambini Montessori at Holy Rosary Church, Little Italy, Cleveland

Then I was off to Casa dei Bambini Montessori at Holy Rosary Church in Little Italy where I used to teach Italian to children ages 3-16.  It was here that I first learned about Maria Montessori, her teachings on specialized education one child at a time: such a fascinating concept to me.  The Montessori children are bright, brilliant, beautiful and, though life brought me elsewhere, I try to keep in touch as much as I can – today I returned with 25 books for their library……

With the "bambini" at Casa dei Bambini Montessori at Holy Rosary Church, Little Italy, Cleveland
With the “bambini” at Casa dei Bambini Montessori at Holy Rosary Church, Little Italy, Cleveland

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Caterina says:

    What a beautiful story!!! i bimbi sono veramente una inspirazione. Mi ha fatto molto piacere sentire la tua pasione mentre leggevo questo blog.

    1. Io AMO I bambini, Cara Caterina e la loro spontaneita’!!! Grazie per esserti fermata nel mio blog – buon 4 luglio a te e alla tua famiglia!!

Leave a Reply

