Un orto siciliano and the wealth of a man…

Dedico questo pensiero a tutti coloro che amano la natura e cio’ che ci insegna sulla lentezza e la pazienza – per lei, il tempo e’ una grande lezione. 

I want to dedicate this reflection to all those who love nature and all that it teaches us on “slowness” (being slow) and patience – for her, time is a great lesson.  

Last night, I went to visit il Signor Antonino Fazio – he hails from Longi, Sicily and moved to the USA over fifty years ago.  I met Mr. Fazio a year ago at an Italian American Festival.  Though he didn’t really know me, he has done so much for me silently this entire year for my book – suggesting and scheduling events, selling my book to his entire neighborhood, family and friends, and generally checking up on my well being from time to time.  Though I never asked him, he went ahead — and time after time, I was really touched by his generous gestures.  To thank him, I periodically go visit him in person, I promised I would return to see his “orto/vegetable garden” in the summer and I did last night.  Mr Fazio and his wife, la Signora Concetta, live a very modest life: Mr Fazio tends to his garden as meticulously as a tailor would sew a suit………..”Here, is all my Sicilia, Francesca” {he told me}, they make homemade pane and cannoli once a week {he was a baker in his  native Longi}, and is very involved in the local Italian American community of Cleveland.  Though Mr Fazio is in his late 70s, you wouldn’t be able to tell by his spirit, he is more active than I am.  His garden is reminiscent of many I have seen and visited across the USA and in Sicily:  the colors and scents of basilico, prezzemolo, menta, melanzane, peperoni, pomodori, cipolle, patate, taddi will inebriate you…….I promised I would share his story with all of you – his generosity is the purest, he never asked for anything in return – but I never forgot the thousand ways in which he has touched my life.  To me, Signor Fazio is the wealthiest man in America……he possesses riches only the deepest eyes will see…..

Mr Antonino Fazio in his Sicilian garden
Mr Antonino Fazio in his Sicilian garden
Fragole/Strawberries from Mr Fazio's garden
Fragole/Strawberries from Mr Fazio’s garden
I found my Sicilia in Mr Fazio's garden: un albero di fichi siciliani!!! a Sicilian fig tree!!!
I found my Sicilia in Mr Fazio’s garden: un albero di fichi siciliani!!! a Sicilian fig tree!!!

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Joe Ceccacci says:

    Beautiful. Thank you.

    Joe Ceccacci 440-759-0678 Sent from my iPhone

    On Jun 20, 2013, at 5:15 PM, Francesca Mignosa ~ Writer wrote:

    WordPress.com Francesca Mignosa posted: “Dedico questo pensiero a tutti coloro che amano la natura e cio’ che ci insegna sulla lentezza e la pazienza – per lei, il tempo e’ una grande lezione. I want to dedicate this reflection to all those who love nature and all that it teaches us on “slowness”

    1. Buongiorno Giuseppe e buona estate!!!!

Leave a Reply

