Nonni Siciliani: Pane, Amore e Fantasia….

I don’t know if it’s the same for you but the holiday season is always a time for reflection and meditation not only over the past year in review as we prepare for a new one but also of a time gone by…..We were very lucky to grow surrounded by four pillars of love, strength and good comforting stories narrated by the gentle voices and spirits of my NONNI/Grandparents.   They had such a strong and impactful influence on my life – I dedicated my book and two chapters of “My Sicily” to them.  I always considered my maternal grandparents “My Sicily” in the USA, every time we traveled from Sicily to the USA and stayed at their home, it felt as if we were in Sicily and not the USA – the same love, same scents, same colors, same sweetness, kindness and warmth.  This past October, I returned to Brucoli, Sicily – the small fishing village where my maternal grandparents were born.  It was very emotional to return holding my first published book in the USA – walking the same streets I walked in my childhood and every time I return.   The imaginative young girl returning as a mature woman and published Author in the USA – truly a dream come true, it still almost feels like a miraculous happening to me for you know my roots are very simple and humble.  Know that anything is truly possible when you believe and apply yourself with dedication and education.

I was speaking to a friend yesterday as we reminisced about our Nonni Siciliani and I found that they/we always had a few things in common – if you have/know a Nonno Siciliano than you might find these elements in common.  All we had really growing up were three simple, but fundamental ingredients.  In the end, perhaps, this is all we need as we journey through the same cycle of life:

1. Pane = bread  {or better said = food}

2. Amore = love {not much explanation needed here :) }

3. Fantasia = imagination or fun {the above mentioned applies here ;) }

This holiday season, don’t forget your Nonni….the elderly, those that are alone or sufferring.  They need your love and comfort more than anyone — they were probably the ones that shared all their wisdom and love with you through the years and taught you a lot about life and the person you are today.

May you have a season of abundant love and laughter.

Our Nonna Giovanna, my maternal grandmother
Our Nonna Giovanna, my maternal grandmother
In Brucoli, Sicily the fishing village where my maternal grandparents were born - in front of the "Castello della Regina Giovanna" - Caste of the Queen Giovanna. My Grandmother is named after her : "Giovanna".
In Brucoli, Sicily the fishing village where my maternal grandparents were born – in front of the “Castello della Regina Giovanna” – Caste of the Queen Giovanna. My Grandmother is named after her : “Giovanna”.
In Brucoli, Sicily - the fishing village where my maternal grandparents were born - in front of a local fresco depicting the lives of the local fishermen......bellissimo.....
In Brucoli, Sicily – the fishing village where my maternal grandparents were born – in front of a local fresco depicting the lives of the local fishermen……bellissimo…..

2 Comments Add yours

  1. what a beautiful, heartwarming tribute to all nonni in Sicily and our lives, and as you said is succintly, they are an integral part of our lives as “food, love, and dreams”

    wonderful job, Francesca

    ________________________________

    1. Grazie for all your support Zio!!! Ti voglio bene. F

Leave a Reply

