My visits to Radio Italia, Blackbird Baking Company and my number ONE fan in the USA!

Buonasera buonasera,

Come state? How is everyone doing?

Hope you had a pleasant and relaxing weekend. Mine was quite eventful and full.  On Saturday evening, I visited Radio Italia and saw my dear friends, legendary Djs Tony Marotta and Nick Zappitelli.  We had an absolute blast as always and talked about Sicilian cuisine, Sicilian islands and lifestyle for two hours.  If you didn’t have the chance to follow the interview live on 91.1FM/www.wruw.org you can click on this link, go to “Radio Italia” and the November 24 show to listen to the entire evening:

http://www.wruw.org/guide/

With legendary djs, Tony Marotta and Nick Zappitelli at Radio Italia

Today was also a very pleasant Sunday….in the morning, I was at Blackbird Baking Company from 10.30-12.30 for a special booksigning.  I thoroughly enjoyed interacting with a very hip and international crowd and spoke about Sicily with Ethiopians, Germans, Irish and Americans! I highly encourage you to visit the bakery for their amazing selection of coffees, teas and European/International pastries!  Thanks to owners, Tom and Adria for making this possible.

With new readers of “My Sicily” at Blackbird Baking Company!
With new readers of “My Sicily” at Blackbird Baking Company!

Then I was off to visiting my BIGGEST FAN in the USA at the moment, directly from Longi (in the province of Messina, Sicily) Mr. Nino Fazio!! Mr. Fazio is now 70 years old and migrated to the USA 40 years ago.  He was a baker {panettiere} in his native town and prepared homemade bread for me……along with another sweet Sicilian surprise: CANNOLI with RICOTTA and CIOCCOLATO!!!  I’m so touched by his support and generosity.  What a gentle, kind and loving man.  May God always bless him and his family – Che Dio benedica sempre lui e la sua famiglia.

Signor Fazio and his homemade bread
Signor Fazio and his wife, la Signora Concetta – and their delicious cannoli

What a sweet Sunday……………….look for a poster similar to this for “My Sicily” booksignings close to you………….many surprises in the upcoming months….

Buona serata e un forte abbraccio a tutti,

Francesca

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Gigia says:

    What a wonderful weekend you had with a new circle of friends;-)!! Cheers to la dolce vita!!

Leave a Reply

